top of page
  • Writer's pictureDavid

Bering True Aurora (Blue)

Bering

The Arctic means a lot to founder Michael Witt Johansen from Denmark, as his father traveled to Greenland and the Faroer Islands as a salesman for more than 25 years, bringing stories and images from there which have been a very important part of his life.

His trips to Greenland enabled him to create great memories by experiencing the spectacular nature.

A cornerstone of the BERING story is Michael Witt Johansen‘s friend and cofounder René Kaerskov who parachute jumped on the North Pole. The purpose for this jump was to raise public awareness for the global warming by promoting the “Earth Hour”.

When René sent Michael his photos from his journey to the North Pole, it was two stories coming together to one idea. It’s BERING Time!

Michael Witt Johansen and his former business partner Lars Gram- Skjønnemann started developing the BERING Design Concept „inspired by arctic beauty“. It’s a combination of the Arctic beauty and the root elements of the world-famous, modern, timeless Danish-design.

 

First Impressions

The unboxing of the watch:

The initial overview:

This is my first Bering watch in my collection, an I must say - I was more impressed than I expected. First of this is a Danish watch company, and I must say the story behind the designs of the watches is very interesting, it actually piqued my interest. Second, Bering absolutely pays attention to the details - I was impressed by the Frosted Glass watch box that it came in, the fact that they paid so much attention to this detail impressed me. The Bering True Aurora is definitely the thinnest watch in my collection so far, it is also super light - due to the fact that the case is made of aluminum. The lens is a flat Sapphire Crystal, which is amazing due to the watches price point. It actually reminded my wife of the infamous Swatch Watches from the 80's, and did that bring back some memories. My opinion on the Bering True Aurora in Blue, this is a great addition to the collection - it is a classic and simple look, and when I first looked at it online - I thought maybe too Blue - but once I received it, it is wearable with jeans, shorts, and possibly business casual (in the right situation). I would recommend Bering as an entry level watch to anyone.

 

Technical Information

Manufacturer: Bering

Collection: True Aurora

Model: Blue

Type: Dress

Water Resistance: 3ATM | 3M | 100ft

Case

Case: Aluminum | Matte Blue

Diameter: 40 mm

Thickness: 8 mm

Lug to Lug: 46.5 mm

Lug Width: 20 mm

Movement: Quartz

Lens: Flat Sapphire Crystal

Bezel: Plain

Crown: Push/Pull

Dial: Blue | White Numbers | Second Hand above 6 O'clock

Strap

Type: Silicone Mesh

Color: Blue

Buckle: Pin Buckle

Width: 20 mm

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page