top of page
  • Writer's pictureDavid

Heritor Matador Box Set

Heritor Watches

Quality is the key to a long lasting timepiece. Every Heritor watch has an automatic or hand wound mechanical movement. HERITOR watches are built for generations. A HERITOR watch can be worn by father; son; grandson and great grandson. Pass it on to the next generation.

 

The Review

So, first impressions of the Heritor Matador Box Set was not as impressive as I thought it should be. The price of this box set is just above the $1k ceiling of the affordable range that I have, although I won the watch on the Wheel of Watches at Watch Gang so I did not pay the retail price,

First off, the box that it came in wad less than impressive - based on the price of the watch I thought it would have been a little more . It did come with an International Warranty Card and a Certificate of Authenticity in the box, but the box is still small and just generic, I have gotten better watch boxed from Burlington Coat Factory with their cheesy knock off watches.

The watch itself is a fairly decent Diver, but the straps leave a lot to be desired, they are small and at best low quality. It came with the rubber strap (not silicone as advertised) already installed, and it looks fairly decent (although small), and the stainless steel bracelet was next to it in the box. I went to exchange the straps the rubber strap was easy enough to remove - but there were some issues with the fit of the stainless bracelet. While attempting to install the stainless bracelet the built-in pin slide literally came off - at that point, I just reinstalled the rubber band.

My perception is that the watch is nice, it would be more of an entry-level affordable Automatic Diver than at the top of the affordable price range. Like I said, the watch itself is pretty nice, I actually like the 70's Retro Diver look, but I can only review the fit and comfort of the rubber(not silicone as advertised) band at this time - and it does not fit my wrist well at all (on the second hole of the tang) and it feels more like cheap rubber than silicone. If I do not gift this to one of my family members, I will be finding some replacement straps - as that is my main issue with the Heritor Matador Box Set.

Based on this, Heritor Watches has fallen to the bottom of my current list of Small Band, Boutique, and Independent watch companies. To me, in order for these companies to be competitive and long lived in the collector arena, they must pay attention to the little things - Heritor missed the boat.

Update February 2021

Ok, I ordered two replacement straps from Barton Watch Bands, and it was a great choice. I replaced the black rubber band that was uncomfortable and looked cheap with the Barton Watch Band Black Top/Pumpkin Orange Bottom Elite Silicone Band - and this is a definite daily wearable for summers at the beach. I also purchased a Gray & Linen NATO band, and this takes the 70's retro shaped Heritor Matador to a whole new level. With the additions of the new straps, the Heritor Matador has moved up in my collection - It was on the list of "gift" to my kids, now it is a great addition to the collection. As I said before - Small Band, Boutique, and Independent watch companies need to pay attention to the smallest of details, if not they will not get the recognition that they deserve.

 

Technical Information

Manufacturer: Heritor Watches

Collection: Matador

Model: HERHR9301

Type: Diver

Water Resistance: 20ATM/200M/660ft

Case

Case: 316L Surgical-Quality Stainless Steel Observation Case back to view Movement

Diameter: 43 mm

Thickness: 14.5 mm

Lug to Lug: 45 mm

Lug Width: 20 mm

Movement: Jeweled Seiko NH35 Automatic Movement

Lens: Sapphire-Coated Mineral Crystal with Magnified Date Display

Bezel: Uni-Directional Rotating Bezel

Crown: Screw Down Push Pull with logo.

Dial: Black with lume ticks, date at the 4 O'clock position.

Strap

Type: Interchangeable Silicone Strap and 316L Surgical-Quality Stainless Steel Bracelet

Color: Stainless Steel / Black Silicon

Buckle: Logo-Engraved Stainless Steel Clasp

Width: Silicone 20/18mm | Stainless 20/18 mm

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


David
David
Feb 18, 2021

So, with my biggest issue with the Heritor Matador Box Set being the straps included in the Box Set. I was going to give the Heritor Matador Box Set away as a gift. As I said in the review, the watch itself is nice, so I thought I would try it again with some new straps. So, I ordered two straps from Barton Watch Bands - Black Top/Pumpkin Orange Bottom | Elite Silicone and the Smoke & Linen | Nylon NATO Style. I will update you when I get the straps in and put them on the watch - so this could still be a part of my collection.

Like
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page