top of page
  • Writer's pictureDavid

William L. 1985 Automatic Vintage Diver 70's Style

William L 1985

My name is Guillaume. I am a watch and style aficionado who used to work in the Swiss watch industry. After several years at the service of some of the most prestigious watchmaking companies, I decided to start my own brand.

I inherited from my grand-grand uncle a beautiful unbranded vintage chronograph from the 50s. This family jewel, once restored, quickly caught the eyes of my friends but the price, for most of them, was a real deal breaker.

 

First Impressions

The unboxing of the watch:

The initial overview:

William L1985 have stepped out of the box from my initial opening of the shipping box, the 70's Vintage Diver was not in a watch-box! The watch was shipped in a grey leather travel case - this was a first for me. The watch is smaller than many of the watches in my collection, but that does not take anything away from the first impression. The dial is a beautiful dark blue, and the case is a nice flat black (DLC Black Treatment) - I actually like the darker muted colors. The watch has a nice weight, you can feel the quality in the weight. The leather band is very nice,, it is comfortable against my wrist. the watch is very readable in the day, there is a nice contrast between the dial and the batons and markers - and also is very readable at night with the lume. I was very impressed with my first encounter with William L 1985, and there may be some more watches from their collection added in the future.

The fit:

The William L 1985 Automatic Vintage Diver 70's Style is a very comfortable fit on the wrist. It is also, with the matte black (DLC Black Treatment), vey stylish and can be worn in both the office and outdoor activity environment. This a quite the all purpose watch and would be a greaat addition to any collection - and for the person that is not a collector, this would be a great watch to wear as a daily. It will start some conversations because of the vintage look, the classic and wearable design. I look forward to getting to wear this watch, and seeing the reaction of the other collectors that I encounter.

 

Technical Information

Manufacturer: William L 1985

Collection: Automatic Collection

Model: Automatic Vintage Diver 70's Style

Type: Diver

Water Resistance: 10ATM | 100M | 330ft

Case

Case: 316L Stainless Steel with DLC Black Treatment

Diameter: 38.5 mm

Thickness: 13.7 mm

Lug to Lug: 44 mm

Lug Width: 18mm

Movement: Automatic Seiko NH35A

Lens: Sapphire

Bezel: Unidirectional rotatable 60 minutes graduated (120-click)

Crown: Screw down

Dial: Blue | Baton Hands with Super-Luminova

Strap

Type: Italian Leather

Color: Black

Buckle: Black DLC Buckle

Width: 18 mm

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page